Book Review: A Thousand Nights

You know that instance when you read a book’s synopsis and it is so similar to another book you like and you think this one might be the same and duh duh duh, you are wrong!!!!!!! Yes, that’s what happened to me with this book. Disappointed is an understatement because I had such high hopes for it. I am not exactly sure if my dislike stems out of the fact that it’s bad or because it’s not as good as The Wrath and The Dawn.

Detached Characters

The characters felt detached from the story like a reported speech sort of thing and it didn’t make it very appealing. The only character I liked was actually the demon in Lo-Melkhiin and even when it talks I don’t feel anything at and that is just sad I think anyway.The main character of the story is equally boring I mean there is only so many times you can take a bath or get painted in henna before you discover that your husband has a demon inside him that sucks the life out of you.

Words that annoy

Yeah this was so very frustrating. You can say great grandfather and we will understand what it means, you don’t have to say father’s father’s father and there are only so many places I can see that before I decide to ignore the entire sentence. And that is not the only word offence, there is also the sister’s mother thing like seriously is there something wrong with saying step-mother?

No Love Story

I am not one to chase love story everywhere but I figured if you are not going to have a very compelling story, you should at least have a love story for readers to root for. At least you would have something going for you.

Very Very Bland Ending

The ending feels very unattended like no attention was paid to it at all. It felt like I was reading a story and the story just stopped abruptly.

P.S: I really don’t like this book

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Thousand Nights

  1. I think I’m going to be giving this one a miss, I haven’t heard such great things about. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

