Book Review: The Rose and The Dagger

It began with a story and it ended with one. This book has been on my TBR from the day I read its prequel and I noticed I was overly excited when I finally got to read it and yes, I was wowed by some of things that transpired and expected the others.

I can’t compare it to the first book though because it was clearly written from a different perspective. While The Wrath and the Dawn was practically a love story between Khalid and Shahrzad, The Rose and The Dagger was more about how the others around them adjust to the weird love Shahrzad had for Khalid especially since they could not understand how someone has steadfast and head-strong as Shahrzad could fall for the monster who not only murdered her best friend but also kept her away from her family.

The Strength of the Women

One of the best things about this book was the way the women in the book sort of took charge especially when the men had their testosterone running high and all wanted to kill each other. Even Irsa had a little bit of sense in her and stopped the bloodshed that would have cost all of them quite a lot. Yasmine and Despina were not found wanting as well because they found the courage to do something when the saw that their worlds were about to collide. The Calipha herself was an epitome of strength has always without compromising one of her principles but it seems she was forced to grow and find a way to be both condescending and calculating. I love her so!!!!!

A Broken Curse

This curse had been shrouded in myth since the beginning of The Wrath and The Dawn and finally at the end of the book, we saw how it affected their lives even though the events of the last pages were technically caused by Shahrzad‘s father’s meddling with magic. I was otherwise disappointed with how that turned out in this book. I was hoping there would have been a huge price to be paid for a curse sealed in blood but alas there wasn’t and the price that was paid, I couldn’t understand.

Deception within Deception

Despina is my next best person after Khalid and Shahrzad. She is as strong as Shahrzad and as cunning as Khalid but above all, she is the perfect spy, someone shrouded in her own air of mystery and an awesome individual. After read the The Moth and The Flame, I understood a little bit of the relationship between her and Jalal and I grew to love them even more.

An Ending Worth Waiting For

I know it might seem like a cheeky thing to say but I am a sucker for epilogues that tells me that my characters have a life beyond the original story and this was exactly what I wanted for them so I didn’t complain.

P.S: Although this book was wonderful, I still feel like there are sub-plots that were not properly addressed and I would like to see them addressed.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rose and The Dagger

  1. YEAH! I am so glad to hear this! Sequels are tricky, so it’s great that this met – and even exceeded – your expectations. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! β™₯

    Like

Leave a Reply

