Comic Review: Eru #1

Hey guys, it’s been more than ages since I’ve reviewed a book and this is so not because I’ve stopped reading.

Last Saturday, I attended my first Lagoscomiccon and boy was it amazing. I was introduced to the world of African comics and I’ve decided that since our guys don’t get enough credit, I’ll give them the little I can.

So Eru was one of the comics I picked up from Comic Republic.com and I must say, I was impressed.

Visually Appealing

beautiful

From the cover to the last page, Eru tells a visual story that is not only attractive but also perfectly descriptive. The graphic artist really took his time to describe each and every scene so it reads like an animation. To be honest, that was what made me pick the book up in the first place.

A bit too short

7_your_dress_is_too_short_-_snl_stop_doing_it

I know comic books are essentially visually descriptive short stories but I expected a bit more depth so that the story could at least keep me hooked for the next issue. Not to say, the story was inadequate but I feel it could have been more.

Elaborate fight scenes

giphy (5)

You know you are in for a treat when the face of one of the characters is melting away to reveal the fear within. The fight scenes are worthy of the books and I especially liked the reference to the statue at the end of the comic by Michelangelo.

The promise of more to come

beggin

So, even though I wasn’t really satisfied with the origin, I feel they’ve still got more story to tell and I will be looking forward to reading it.

P.S: The guys from Comic Republic are really talented and you need to see their other stuffs.

Leave a Reply

